Lessons from a craft fair

If you have read previous posts in this blog, you will be aware that I am in the process of setting up a jewellery business called Little Koo. And that I first presented that business to the world at a craft fair in Wanchai last month.

I wouldn’t say that it was a resounding success; I made some sales but not many. But I did learn a lot, and I thought I would share some of those things with you today.

1. It’s all about the presentation

Little Koo craft fair jewellery stallI think I managed a fairly decent presentation of my products – my stall looked nice and uncluttered… but perhaps a bit too uncluttered. All of the other jewellery sellers had a lot more on their stalls to sell than me. And looking at the photos now, I can see that it was difficult for people to see the jewellery. My tags were too large! And the earrings somehow blended in with the background! When I next sign up for a craft fair I will definitely put more effort into how I present each type of jewellery item in such a way that it is really easy for the customer to see it and how it is worn.

2. Be unique

Little Koo blue Tiger's Eye and red Swarovski crystal braceletReflecting on it now, I realise that people come to craft fairs to find products that they haven’t seen before. Otherwise they would just go to a normal shop and buy a mass-produced item. The stall next to me had a range of bracelets that looked like they were made from measuring tape and this definitely attracted the attention of a lot of people who walked past. Whilst I am proud of the jewellery designs I have, I have realised that they aren’t unique enough to attract this sort of passing attention. I will definitely continue to launch the business online with the designs that I have, but I have lots of ideas for jewellery designs that are a little more unique! Watch this space!

3. Look the part

Little Koo business cardI have read a couple of articles which suggest that new businesses need to project the type of image that they hope to have when they are more established. I realise now that this also applies to craft fairs! All the other jewellery stalls at the craft fair looked a lot more professional than me, with proper display stands, printed tags and professional signs. I had picture frames with buttons sewn onto fabric and oversize tags (that I already had at home) with handwritten prices on. I also failed to get business cards printed in time. Next time I do a craft fair, I will definitely try to project myself as a professional business, which will hopefully give potential customers more faith in my products.

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

