Switching from Google Reader

A couple of months ago, Google announced that it would be discontinuing its Google Reader tool on the 1st July. I, along with many other blog lovers, was pretty disappointed at this news because I use it on a daily basis. I recently had a bit of a purge but was still left with 60 blogs that I follow! (maybe I’ll post about some of my favourites one day?!)

I found Google Reader pretty straightforward to use and its availability on different platforms is a big bonus for me. I use it via the website on my PC and iPad and via the Google Reader app on my Android phone. Therefore I was a bit worried that the alternatives wouldn’t suit me as well.

I recently started doing some research (slightly last minute, as ever!) and I read this article, along with a bunch of others (although I found they provided little additional info). And based on this research, I decided to give Feedly a go.

I chose Feedly because it was well recommended on pretty much every website I looked at, and it is also available for both web use and Android.

When I started I was a bit confused by the website as first of all it doesn’t show up correctly in Internet Explorer, the browser I usually use. I also use Firefox, so I accessed the Feedly website through that and clicked on the ‘get Feedly through Firefox’ link. It downloaded some software (I’m not sure why) and then the Feedly front page appeared. I was given the option to create a login or sign in via Google Reader. I chose the latter and lo! all my blogs and even all my starred articles (which are called ‘saved for later’ in Feedly) were there. Very simple!

I also downloaded the Feedly app onto my Android phone via Google Play. Again, this was pretty straightforward, although I was surprised that I had to login via Google Reader again. I have to admit, it’s taken me a little while to get up to speed with the app as it’s quite different to Google Reader and not that intuitive (to me, anyway). I guess I was trying to use it like Google Reader and it’s a totally different app. Anyway, I’ve played around with the settings a bit and it seems to do what I want now!

Overall, I’d say that Feedly is beautifully presented and certainly shows the blog posts a lot more clearly than Google Reader. After using it for a couple of weeks I’m quite happy with it and don’t really mind that I won’t be able to use Google Reader any more. Feedly has some nice features which make it a little nicer to use as well. One thing I quite like about the Android app is that when you click a link in a blog post, it displays the website in the app so that when you want to move onto the next blog post in your reading list you don’t have to click the ‘back’ button to go back to the blog post you were reading, just move to the next post in your list (I use a swipe to do this but there are different options!).

If you read the Little Koo blog via Google Reader you will need to make alternative arrangements in the next couple of weeks. I’d really recommend Feedly as a similar alternative, or you can receive an email every time I create a new post instead by clicking the ‘Follow’ button under ‘Follow blog via email’ on the left hand side of this web page. I don’t want to lose you just because Google made an annoying decision!

Thanks for reading! (and I really mean that!)

Rachel

P.S. I have no affiliation to Feedly nor am I receiving any recompense for my recommendation. This is a genuine recommendation based on my own personal experience.

6 thoughts on “Switching from Google Reader

  1. I also jumped to Feedly and have been very impressed. Seamless transition, and nicer to use than Google Reader. (If you want to make Feedly act a bit more like Reader did, they have a blog post up somewhere showing how to do so.).

    The bit if software you downloaded is a plug in that operates within the browser. One if their most requested updates I for feedly to run natively without the need for that. A it stands, you can’t just log in to Feedly on, say, a library computer or a friend’s. That’s it only weak point for me.

    • Thanks Trevor, I didn’t know that but it makes sense. I was wondering how I would be able to log in once Google Reader was switched off, so it would seem that the answer is that you can’t – although surely they must have some way of identifying your account so that you can link it to a new app purchase or similar?

  2. I’ve been testing out The Old Reader and Feedly and so far I like Feedly better. I need an Android app.

    There is one feature I have not yet seen that I need. Google Reader had feed bundles that you could publish for others to subscribe to. If you hear of anything like this I would be sold!

    • That’s interesting to hear that you like Feedly better after trying a couple. I do like it but I think it isn’t very intuitive to use at times, if you want to do something other than just read through updates.

      I’ve not heard of anything like publishing feed bundles. Perhaps you could get in touch with Feedly and suggest it?

Leave a Reply

