Etsy shop feature: RubyRedRose (plus a giveaway!)

I’ve recently realised that I spend a lot of time on this blog talking about myself, and I’d really like to share the love a little and talk about other people more! So, starting today, I’m going to do a series of blog posts featuring other bloggers and Etsy sellers who I love.

Kicking off the series is Rowena from RedRubyRose, who has also very kindly offered one of her clutch bags for me to giveaway! Keep reading for details of the giveaway :)

I love Rowena’s clutch bags, they are so beautifully made out of the most gorgeous fabrics. I mentioned this once to my husband and he bought me one as a surprise! It came beautifully gift wrapped and is now my favourite bag. My husband was touched that Rowena also kept him in touch with the progress of his order really well as well.

Anyway, here is Rowena to tell you a little about herself…

Describe your shop in one or two sentences.

Contemporary handmade clutch bags featuring a mix of original designs and eclectic fabrics.

il_570xN.337227520

What has been your most popular product to date? What is your favourite?

This embroidered peacock clutch has always been very popular:  http://www.etsy.com/listing/113475559/peacock-clutch-bag-wedding-purse

It’s great for weddings and is a beautiful fabric. I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with it… I started making it back in 2008 and there were no other peacock clutches like it on Etsy or on the internet, I loved it and it sold really well. Then I started seeing knock-offs springing up on Etsy and part of me wanted to pull it from my shop as it felt cheapened but I haven’t quite brought myself to remove it as I’m so fond of it.

Also, one of my current favourites is the yellow Fiat, it just makes me smile. http://www.etsy.com/listing/127685727/clutch-bag-yellow-car-silk-purse-yellow

il_570xN.475971133_de1e

Where do you get your inspiration?

For me it’s all about the fabrics. I don’t vary the bag shapes much as they are the canvas for the fabric. I hunt out unusual fabrics, ends of rolls, and discontinued lines. For my own fabric designs I look through my own photography and collage work for inspiration.

il_570xN.274000716

What made you decide to open an Etsy shop?

Red Ruby Rose came about in December 2007. At the time I was a freelance illustrator and was half way through a big book illustration commission, knowing full well I wouldn’t get paid until 2008. All my friends and family got handmade presents that year and the gifts that got the best response were my ‘experimental’ clutch bags.Around the same time I discovered Etsy and so I decided to open a shop for fun. I was also yearning for a more tactile process away from my increasingly digital illustration working methods.Now here I am in 2013, having made and sent thousands of bags all over the world, and I still love it!

il_570xN.211822406

What is your favourite part of the creative process?

There’s a point in the making process where the bag gets stuffed in on itself and turned the right way round through the lining. I still love that moment, when the bag reveals itself. especially if I have a new fabric and I want to see how it looks.

il_570xN.473106668_ceu7

What are you currently working on? Anything new coming up?

I want to make more leather bags. It’s just a case of getting to my favourite leather stockist in London and having a wonderful rummage… I’ve been meaning to do it for months. That’s top of the ‘to do’ list.

il_570xN.484910731_tibe

What are your top three favourite Etsy shops?

Golly Bard: http://www.etsy.com/shop/GollyBard (I use her dragonflies fabric and own one of her beautiful moth paintings, her style is so unique) http://www.etsy.com/listing/119587983/dragonflies-clutch-bag-silk-lined-purse

Irene Suchocki: http://www.etsy.com/shop/EyePoetryPhotography. This print is in my Etsy favourites as next purchase: http://www.etsy.com/listing/154541006/path-to-little-black-church-iceland

Luxe Deluxe: http://www.etsy.com/shop/luxedeluxe. I just totally admire Adrienne’s tenacity and work ethic. She was one of the first shops I found and favourited on Etsy back in 2008 and she has remained on the top of her game… changing her style and emphasis when the competition got a little hot and presenting beautifully photographed and stylish items.

Oh, and just one more… Oktak: http://www.etsy.com/shop/oktak. Aki makes absolutely beautiful purses and I love her fabric choices and embellishments. I use one of her coin purses every day… I know that sounds a little crazy as I could have made my own but I just love her work.

Thanks Rowena! If you want to see more of her work, check out her Etsy shop, website, blog and facebook page!

As I mentioned, Rowena has offered to give away one of her bags to one of my blog readers (you lucky things!). And this is the one, the bestselling Peacock clutch (also one of my favourites!):

il_570xN.381491399_51o2

All you have to do to be in with a chance of winning this beautiful clutch bag is leave a comment below! This giveaway closes at midnight PST (GMT -7) on Monday 26th August so you have 2 whole weeks to enter! One comment will be selected at random and notified by email within 24 hours. Please leave an email address if your profile does not already have this information. This giveaway is international.

Good luck!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

32 thoughts on “Etsy shop feature: RubyRedRose (plus a giveaway!)

  1. Delightful lady , delightful clutches ……. I am lucky enough to already have several of Rowena’s beautiful designs . They are all so tactile and exquisitely made and presented too ! ( just in case I’m the lucky one , we can all dream …… I shall be out of the country until September 8th and will have no internet access ’till then )

  2. wow.. what beautiful clutches.. I’ve not heard of this yet..thank you for putting up a eonderful post. I just found your blog over wordpress.. and i love to enter the contest.. :D

  3. Hi Rachel. I love reading your blog. I love Esty and making crafty things too and now I love Red Ruby Rose too. The bags are beautiful! Great idea to interview other crafters. I look forward to reading more of these.
    Naomi x

  4. Such a good idea to blog about other Etsy things! I need a new clutch bag for various weddings coming up (anyone we know…?) so I will be straight onto Red Ruby Rose!

  5. Pingback: Hand decorated jam jar luminaries | the Little Koo blog

  6. Beautiful clutches! I am not surprised the peacock clutch is the top seller! I am particularly fond of the FIat clutch, how cute. Best of luck to Rowena and to the success of her shop! I look forward to seeing new leather clutches! info@talulahlee.com -Melissa from Talulah Lee Jewelry

  7. Pingback: Buying craft supplies in Hong Kong | the Little Koo blog

  8. Pingback: Etsy shop feature: Misala | the Little Koo blog

  9. I adore almost all of Rowena’s pretty beautiful coin purses and clutch bags- I’m fond of the floral printed ones they’re just incredibly elegant and fairytale-like!
    Thank You and for Rowena, too! Good luck for her lovely shop!

  10. Pingback: Maclehose trail stage 2: hills, beaches and lots of rain! | the Little Koo blog

  11. I love these clutches so, so much; I’m a big fabric fan so I totally understand why she tends to keep the clutch shape the same so that the fabric can speak for itself. Lush :)

  12. I love the part where she says that the bag reveals itself. I think there is that particular moment when any handmade project comes to fruition. I love that feeling, too!

  13. Spoilt for choice every time. I need 3 for my wedding and can’t decide which to go for. All beautiful. Perhaps winning one will enable me to make a decision about the other two!!

  14. What beautiful bags. Love the peacock clutch bag. I really like 1920s/art deco inspired things. And this makes me think of The Great Gatsby. I can imagine Daisy Buchanan having one and maybe wearing a peacock feather in her hair! Thank you for the chance to win one of Rowena’s bags! I’m enjoying reading your blog, Rachel.

  15. These bags are beautiful! I am a bag fanatic! I love the different designs, and colours. Bags like these can be used as the key feature to an outfit!

    Great blog Rachel!

    Lynsey xx

  16. Pingback: Blog feature: Make My Day Creative | the Little Koo blog

Leave a Reply

