Crafting New Year’s Resolutions

(I am very aware that New Year’s was quite a while ago, but Chinese New Year wasn’t so long ago so maybe I can use that as an excuse for this post?!)

A couple of years ago I saw a blog post (I can’t remember where unfortunately) where someone was saying that each year they make a resolution to learn a new craft. I thought this was such a good idea that last year I made my first craft resolution – to learn copperplate calligraphy. I bought a nib and penholder, and a book on how to write copperplate calligraphy… and that’s as far as it went. Oops.

So this year I have made another craft resolution, and I hope to actually stick to it! My resolution is to learn how to make wirework jewellery. I have an idea in my mind of a jewellery collection that I want to make but I don’t actually know how to make it yet!

I hope that by sharing my resolution with you all that it will force me to actually stick by it and learn. If I don’t post updates on my wirework practice every few months you have my permission to write rude comments telling me to get on with it ;)

There are so many great wirework jewellers out there, I am spoiled for inspiration! I don’t know how close I’ll get to achieving their level of skill but it does give me something to aim for!

Here are a few of my favourites:

de Cor’s (being able to make these earrings is one of my goals with this wirework resolution – they’re so beautiful!)

il_570xN.212582014

Lena Sinelnik Art

il_570xN.509757670_17wp

Nicole Hanna Jewelry

594

Gailavira Jewelry

il_570xN_150834196

I also made a treasury featuring more great wirework designs!

wirework treasury

Do you have a craft resolution this year? If not, why not make one? It’s always great to learn new things! Let me know what you learn this year!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

5 thoughts on “Crafting New Year’s Resolutions

  1. The wirework looks amazing – I’d love to be able to do that!
    Keep hold of your calligraphy pens though… it’s one of those things you just find yourself picking up again years later and falling in love with! (promise)

Leave a Reply

