Favourite recipes – oatmeal and raisin cookies

This oatmeal and raisin cookie recipe is a new favourite recipe of mine. I’ve only just baked it but I like the cookies so much that I just had to share it with you!

I was after a recipe for nice chewy oatmeal and raisin cookies, and the lovely Melissa from Talulah Lee sent me hers and has very kindly allowed me to share with all of you (by the way, Melissa makes lovely jewellery so you should check out her website – she hasn’t asked me to say this!)

So without further ado, here is the recipe (the conversions in italics are the ones I used):

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 Cup (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons (200g) butter, softened
3/4 Cup (165g) firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 Cup (100g) granulated sugar
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon vanilla
1-1/2 Cups (192g) all-purpose flour
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 Teaspoon salt (optional)
3 Cups (255g) Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked) (Editor’s note: I just used standard supermarket quick cook oatmeal)
1 Cup raisins (Editor’s note: I couldn’t find a conversion for this so I just used a smallish cup that I have and mostly filled it with raisins! It worked out about right I think)

PREPARATION:

  1. Heat oven to 350°F (180°C).
  2. In large bowl, beat butter and sugars on medium speed of electric mixer until creamy.
  3. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.
  4. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well.
  5. Add oats and raisins; mix well.
  6. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  7. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. (Editor’s note: I found that mine took 10-12 minutes to cook enough but still stayed chewy)
  8. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

I made 35 large cookies, but I guess how many you make will depend on how big your rounded tablespoons of raw mixture are.

homemade oatmeal and raisin cookies

Do let me know if you have a go at this recipe and how they turned out. I think they taste even better than they look!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

newsletter signup banner

5 thoughts on “Favourite recipes – oatmeal and raisin cookies

  1. Pingback: #TastyTuesdays 58 - The Love Nerds

Leave a Reply

