Favourite recipes: Evaporated milk fruit cake

I have to admit that I’m not a huge fan of the really rich fruit cakes that you get at weddings and Christmas (but don’t get me wrong, if given some I will eat it!) but I have a recipe for a fruit cake that is much lighter and, in my humble opinion, tastes great.

Light fruit cake recipe - Little Koo

This recipe is one that my mum made many times throughout my childhood, and now one that I very much enjoy cooking and eating! It’s a very quick and simple cake to make. I mix the whole thing by hand, as I think it almost takes more time to set up the food processor than it does to make it! And it actually doesn’t require that much arm power to mix (as long as your butter is well softened) :)

Evaporated milk fruit cake recipe - Little Koo

As you can see, it comes out a bit crumbly! But it is definitely not dry.

For this recipe you will need:

  • 6oz butter (softened) or margarine
  • 6oz sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 small (170g) can evaporated milk
  • 8oz self raising flour
  • 1lb mixed dried fruit

1. Beat the butter and sugar together with a spoon until light and fluffy

2. Add the egg and evaporated milk

3. Add the flour bit by bit and work in until the mixture is creamy and smooth

4. Work in the mixed fruit

5. Put the mixture in an 8″ round tin and bake in the oven for 1 hour 30 minutes at 150ºC (check before this to make sure the top isn’t getting overdone)

6. When it looks done on top, stick a skewer or a knife in. It should come out clean if the cake is ready.

So there you go, I told you it was easy. Let me know if you give it a go!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

newsletter signup banner

7 thoughts on “Favourite recipes: Evaporated milk fruit cake

      • No, there is hardly any difference b/w the two from health pt. of view. I am a huge fan of the coconut flavor. Coconut sugar takes more time to blend than normal sugar, its texture is coarse, but it enhances the flavor and people fond of the coconut flavor, enjoy it to the fullest, that is what my learning says. BTW Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Hello Rachel, I am visiting my daughter and have made this cake twice for her. First as you suggest and then with diced dried mango. Its a great cake to cut and serve, it tasted delicious. I have never used evaporated milk in a cake. Thanks so much. Love your blogs too – keep it up.
    Barbara

Leave a Reply

