Handmade Hong Kong Christmas Fair – in review

The next Handmade Hong Kong (HMHK) Sunday Market is this Sunday (11th January) in Discovery Bay, and Little Koo will be there with another stall! Come by and say hi!

Handmade Hong Kong Sunday Markets 2015

HMHK put on some great fairs, I really enjoyed the last Sunday Market I did in December. One highlight for me was a lady who loved a pair of my earrings (these ones) so much that she put them on straight away after she bought them!

Also. there were so many wonderful stalls around me. I ended buying a few things myself! Here are some of my favourites:

Longjungleee – this was the stall next to mine. The jewellery is all handmade from dried flowers set in resin. It was so pretty that I bought a pair of earrings for myself!

Lostjunglee - Handmade Hong Kong Fair

hejöl – a beautiful display of pretty candles in lovely shapes and colours

hejol - Handmade Hong Kong Fair

Ashwan – so many bright colourful Turkish hand-painted ceramics!

Ashwan - Handmade Hong Kong Fair

SAPH+ workshop – this stall certainly attracted a lot of attention with their range of unique shoes

SAPH+ Workshop - Handmade Hong Kong Fair

Felted – fun food of all kinds beautifully made from felt!

Felted - Handmade Hong Kong Fair

And some others I didn’t get photos of…

For all the knitters out there, knit purl crochet have a great range of handknit yarns

Beautiful cheongsam-style dresses for girls in modern fabrics from Dragonfly Girls

And finally, a special mention to a stall selling fun totes with cartoons of classic Hong Kong imagery such as fish balls! It was run by some teenage boys who didn’t really understand why I wanted to take a photo of their wares. I took a leaflet and afterwards realised that the bags were designed by teenagers attending GoGetters school from the St Stephen’s Society, which aims to keep young people off the streets and help with their education. The bags were really cool, I regret not buying one! If they’re at this Sunday’s fair I’m definitely buying one this time!

So I hope that’s helped to whet your appetite for the next HMHK fair this Sunday. If you’re in Hong Kong, why not pop over to Discovery Bay and check it out?!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

newsletter signup banner

Leave a Reply

