Custom handmade jewellery designs

One of the nicest things about making jewellery is when I get asked to make something specific for someone! I love doing custom designs. And I’ve been lucky enough to have been asked to create two of them recently.

The first was a very open brief – a friend wanted something fairly simple in style, but it had to be purple! I decided to make a bracelet from some beautiful purple swirled glass beads that I have. I bought some lilac Swarovski crystal bicones to match and pulled the design together with some silver spacer beads. The overall look is quite a slim bracelet design, which I chose because it is pretty but not too flashy.

p1080127

p1080132

p1080133

The second was a little more specific. I was asked to create a two layer necklace using some beautiful flat teardrop shaped lapis lazuli beads that had already been picked out. I played with a few designs and decided that the lapis lazuli matched well with some blue goldstone beads that I already had. I wanted the beads to be fairly spaced out so that the necklace didn’t look too heavy so I linked the beads together with wire wrapped loops. This took me quite a long time! I’m not sure whether I’d make another necklace like it again due to the time it took, but I was really pleased with the result.

p1080122

p1080121

p1080119

Luckily, both people loved their new jewellery!

It’s so much fun to design something for someone specific. If you’d like me to design you (or someone you know) a piece of jewellery, just get in touch. The best way is to email me at littlekoojewellery@gmail.com. I’d love to hear your requirements and work with you to produce a beautiful piece of jewellery.

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

newsletter signup banner

Leave a Reply

