Candid Hong Kong – an evening at the races

Every fortnight I share a photo that shows a little insight into Hong Kong life. Sometimes they are things that made me smile, classic Hong Kong sights or just really unusual things.

Given that I used to live in Happy Valley, it took me a ridiculously long amount of time to go to the Happy Valley races on a Wednesday night (except in the height of summer). I went earlier this year with some friends and it was really fun – a very relaxing way to spend the evening with a few drinks, some food and the run of watching the horse races. The minimum bet is HK$20 (about £1.70) so my husband and I had a small bet each on each race. We were doing quite well at one point, but it went downhill in the last half of the evening and we made a small loss of only a few dollars overall.

I tried to take photos of the horses racing but they were too fast!

160112 Candid Hong Kong Happy Valley races

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

One thought on “Candid Hong Kong – an evening at the races

  1. Pingback: Hong Kong Street Life –

Leave a Reply

