DIY glitter glue card with masked letters

I’ve already shared with you two ways of making cards with silhouetted letters – stamping paint with a pencil eraser and using an ink pad and a patterned stamp. This week I will share the final way that I have used this technique, and it’s a bit brighter and bolder! This time I used glitter glue!

Happy birthday silhouetted letters card

If you want to make a card like this, then you will need:

  • Card blank (mine is DL size)
  • Post-it notes
  • Pen/pencil
  • Ruler
  • Scissors or a craft knife
  • Glitter glue (in a selection of colours)

I covered the method for making the letters (from post-it notes) and aligning them on the card in this post, so I won’t repeat that here, just head on over to the post and start from the beginning until you have something that looks like this:

using post-it notes for temporary masking letters

All I did next was to carefully cover my letters with glitter glue. I found that squeezing some out of the tube onto the card and then spreading it out with the tip of the tube worked really well. As you can see, I used a range of colours to make my design really bright! Then all you have to do is peel off the post-it letters and leave the whole thing to dry.

Glitter glue birthday card

I found that the glitter glue made my card a little bit wrinkled, but I guess that’s unavoidable unless you use a really thick card blank.

Bright and sparkly card tutorial

Glitter glue masked letters DIY card

What do you think? Will you have a go yourself? Maybe you could do a pattern in the glitter glue, such as circles or waves?! That might look pretty cool. Let me know what you come up with!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

One thought on “DIY glitter glue card with masked letters

  1. Pingback: Hand lettered triangle stamped birthday card | the Little Koo blog

Leave a Reply

