Layered name DIY card

One of my friends recently had a baby and I wanted to make a card for them with the baby’s name on. I really liked font I used for my niece’s birth card (which you can see at the bottom of this post) but I wanted to do something different with the card itself. I’ve recently bought some pretty paper supplies so I thought I’d put them to good use! And this is what I came up with:

Layered paper card tutorial

Isn’t it a cute name?

Whilst this card was pretty straightforward to make, I was surprised by just how long it took. There is a lot of cutting out! But I love the layered effect, so I think all that cutting is worth it.

If you’d like to make something similar yourself, read on for the tutorial…

Firstly you will need:

  • Card blank
  • Paper in different colours and patterns
  • Craft knife or scissors
  • Glue (I used a glue runner but pritt stick or any glue suitable for paper will do)
  • Pencil
  • Printer (optional)

Firstly (and this is also the fun part), decide what colour papers you will use and in which order. I always find it quite difficult to find colours and patterns that match together well!

Once you have picked your paper, you now need to pick your lettering. You can either use a font or draw the letters yourself. If you are drawing the letters, then simply draw the outline onto your paper. If you are using a font, then you need to choose your font. I used Marcelle, which is free on dafont.com (this font has a textured appearance but since I only wanted to use the outline and not the printed letters it didn’t matter). I typed the name I wanted to use on the card in Word, did a ‘print screen’ and pasted it into Paint, where I flipped the image backwards using the Rotate > Flip Horizontal command, and saved it as a jpeg.

Reflect the image in Paint

I then inserted this image into a blank Word document so I could size it to fit my card blank. And then I printed it onto the back of my patterned paper (which happened to have a different pattern on the back).

Backwards print

If you know a quicker way of doing this, please let me know! It was a bit convoluted, but it worked.

I then cut around the text with a pair of scissors. I filled it in where the text didn’t quite join up and made some of the thinnest parts a bit thicker so the papercut would be easier to handle. I’m not very skilled with a craft knife which is why I used scissors, but I used one to cut out the holes and the fiddly bits. If you are better at cutting out curves with a craft knife than me then you might want to use one for the whole thing!

Next, glue your papercut onto your next colour/pattern paper. I liked the idea of having the text in a pattern and using plain colours for the rest of the layers, but that’s just my preference. Using a pencil, draw around the text layer, trying to keep your line a certain distance away from the text at all times. I smoothed out many of the features of the text but kept some of the major indents and shapes.

Drawing the next layer

Now cut out along the line you have just drawn. Erase any pencil marks still showing. Stick this layer onto your next layer of paper and repeat until you are happy with the overall look and size of your piece. Mine had 4 layers in total.

Papercraft lettering card

Now you can glue it to your card blank and you are done!

Baby name card papercut

Luckily, my friend loved it :)

P1090229

I was a little disappointed with the contrast between the name and the next layer. I think I should have used a darker coloured pattern for the top layer. I also made this card for a little girl’s birthday using the same technique, and I was much happier with the colours.

DIY layered birthday card

Do you like this layered look? Let me know if you have a go at something similar yourself!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

One thought on “Layered name DIY card

  1. Pingback: Hand lettered triangle stamped birthday card | the Little Koo blog

Leave a Reply

