Hand lettered triangle stamped birthday card

So it would seem that I’ve been making a lot of cards recently! I’ve recently published a layered name card, this washi tape bunting card and a whole bunch of different designs with masked letters (here, here and here). And I’ve got one more design for you after this one!

This time I was making a birthday card for my brother so I needed something not too feminine, and as usual I didn’t have much time to make it! And this is what I produced:

easy and simple modern birthday card tutorial

I think this was the quickest card I’ve made recently (maybe apart from the washi tape bunting one). I thought I’d try my hand at a bit of hand lettering, and it came together really quickly. Hand lettering is something that I’d really like to get more into – I think it makes a big difference on cards especially. I’ve dabbled a bit with calligraphy in the past (such as with these Christmas cards, and this family tree) but I’d definitely like to take it further in future.

Anyway, I had a vague idea that I wanted the hand lettering to be made of quite round serif letters with thick sides and thin lines elsewhere, and after a couple of practice runs I just sized it to fit onto the card, drew some guidelines and drew the letters in pencil. I made the middle of the letters 10mm high, and the ascenders and descenders were 8mm high, which fitted really well on this DL card blank. Then I went over the outlines with a gold pen and filled in the thick sides with squiggles. I think I may have left too much space between the letters but overall I’m quite pleased with it.

triangle stamped DIY card

To make the triangles, I cut a triangle shape into the end of a pencil eraser and randomly stamped the triangles above and below the text using ink pads. These two colours are the only two colour ink pads that I have but I think they work well together!

pencil eraser triangle stamp

I think the card has quite a modern look and it came out better than I was expecting!

hand lettered birthday card

Have you tried hand lettering? What’s your favourite style? Please share your designs below, I’d love to see them!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

