Candid Hong Kong – hidden colonial buildings

Every fortnight week I share a photo that shows a little insight into Hong Kong life. Sometimes they are things that made me smile, classic Hong Kong sights or just really unusual things.

One of the things that makes me a little bit sad about Hong Kong is how little history there is left. Rapid development largely failed to allow for sentimentality or heritage, especially with such a premium on space, and therefore Hong Kong has very few buildings that are more than a few decades old. There are some, you just have to work to find them!

Happy Valley and Wan Chai are two areas of Hong Kong that I know pretty well, since I used to live in Happy Valley. I remember seeing a building in between two fairly standard tower blocks on a road in Happy Valley (possibly on Village Road) and thinking that it looked like a copy of a colonial building – but actually on reflection I think it actually is one! Another hidden gem in Happy Valley is Fung Fai Terraces, so hidden in fact that I never found it(!) but I read about it on Bluebalu’s blog.

Wan Chai has a few more well known colonial buildings, such as the Blue House, the Old Wan Chai Post Office and the Pawn. But the one pictured below is not so well known. I just noticed it on a side street off Wan Chai Road. It looks like it has had some recent modernisation work done, but I quite like it!

160719 Candid Hong Kong Wan Chai colonial building

If you’d like to find more colonial buildings in Hong Kong, there is a whole list of them here.

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

One thought on “Candid Hong Kong – hidden colonial buildings

  1. Yes, that’s the Comix base – the comic museum in Wan Chai. It is one of the places still to visit, I keep walking past it so many times but always forget about it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

