Correct spelling in Hong Kong

I’ve mentioned several times on this blog how good the level of English is in Hong Kong (although I did point out a few of the idiosyncrasies that I saw here), but on my travels around Hong Kong I’ve noticed a few times where the English has been not-so-good, but then corrected! I like to think that those Hong Kongers who do have excellent English may enjoy pointing out mistakes where they see them :)

This first example was on a sign next to some roadworks. The pedestrian crossing had temporary lights on, so the sign is telling pedestrians to take note of where to cross. I had a little chuckle the first time I saw the sign because the English wasn’t right, but clearly someone was on the case and the next time I saw it, this had happened:

20150204_113432

Another example is on a restaurant sign in Jordan. I have to admit that it looks like I’ve photoshopped this picture, but it is a genuine photo – someone has stuck the A and the T onto the sign to correct it. Clearly someone didn’t use spellchecker when making the original sign…

20151215_114014

I’m sure the Hong Kong English language police are keeping their beady eyes open for any other signs they can correct!

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

